Theology Department

Theology Department

Requirements for Admission to Theology

     Application for admission to theology should be made in the prescribed form and should reach the Rector before March 25 every year, with the recommendation of the Bishop or Superior and the report from the seminary where he studied previously. The candidate should have graduated in any discipline besides the completion of an approved philosophy course of any ecclesiastical faculty or seminary. A student who had his previous studies in any other institute has to present documents of his graduation and seminary course. Ruhalaya admits women religious to the four-year Theology course. Sisters should have completed one year of professed religious life. For admission to theology the applicant shall have the degree of B. Ph. or shall have completed at least a Diploma course in Philosophy. Each student shall pay a fee of ₹ 5000/- for the academic year. This sum is to be paid at the beginning of the academic year.

Programme of Studies Theology

     Theology course consists of 175 credits (157 credits for regular courses and 18 credits for dissertation and comprehensive exams) in four years or 8 semesters. One credit is equal to 15 hours. Each credit is given 25 marks. Introductory courses are conducted in the first year. The second and third year courses are mostly combined on an alternating cycle.

     Theology Programme integrates five types of courses: (1) basic courses which all the students must do; (2) elective courses from which every student chooses two courses, one each in the second and third year; (3) six seminars in three years, of which the first four are obligatory and the other two allow choice of topics and professors; (4) extension programme(a) intensive communication course in June at the end of the first year, (b) field placement programme during the second summer holidays, and (c) one month action-reflection programme during the third year; (5) an intensive special course in the first week of November for all the theologians.

    Each student should submit, by the middle of the seventh semester, a short thesis of 50 pages, topic of which is to be fixed at the beginning of the sixth semester. Other courses to develop the talents and skills of the students are also offered.


     Examinations are, as a rule, conducted for every course at the end of each semester. They may be either oral, written or assignments, as fixed by the faculty. Examinations for the one-credit courses of the visiting professors may be conducted on termination of the course. The timetable of the examination will be fixed by the Dean of the faculty in consultation with the Rector. In the eighth semester there will be a comprehensive viva and written examinations as per the themes given.

     A student who fails to obtain the pass mark in any subject has to repeat the examination. Normally only one supplementary examination is conducted, which will take place within a month, but not earlier than one week from the concluding date of the examination. The marks of the supplementary examination will not be considered for deciding the rank of a student. No student who passed with a low mark will be permitted to repeat the examination. In case any student fails in the supplementary examination, the matter will be immediately reported to the Bishop/Major Superior by the Dean of Studies. If the Bishop/Major Superior allows a go ahead, the student will be permitted to go for another examination only after having submitted a scientific paper on the subject as directed by the Dean of Studies.

Academic Grade

90 to 100%
High First Class
80 to 89%
First Class
70 to 79%
Second Class
60 to 69%
Third Class
50 to 59%
Minimum Pass Mark


B. Th. Degree

    Ruhalaya College of Theology, affiliated to Paurastya Vidya Peetam, Kottayam, awards B. Th. Degree to those students who obtain at least 65% in the final grade. In the final grade of a student, 70% is allotted to the aggregate of the marks of the four-year theology courses, 10% is allotted to the marks of the dissertation and 20% is allotted to the marks of comprehensive examinations (both written and oral).

Diploma in Apostolic Ministry

    Ruhalaya College of Theology (RCT) also confers a Diploma in Apostolic Ministry to the students of theology. This is a self-formation programme under the guidance of RCT. The purpose of this programme is to prepare the students in view of taking up special ministries in their future priestly/religious life. Accordingly, each student is invited, at the beginning of the theology course, to take up an apostolic ministry of his/her choice and aptitude. In th course of the four years of formation, he/she shall endeavour to acquire sufficient theoretical knowledge as well as practical experience in the ministry chosen by him/her. Major part of this Diploma Programme may be completed during the long summer holidays. At the end of every year, each student’s project is evaluated. Besides this, each one shall also prepare a written project work highlighting the theoretical knowledge and practical experience he/she has acquired in the chosen ministry in the course of this self-formation programme. At end of the four years of formation at RCT, each student will be awarded a Diploma in Apostolic Ministry indicating the grades each one has obtained. 

Promotion and Sacred Orders

     At the end of every academic year, the Rector with the consent of the Staff Council promotes the well-motivated students who have fulfilled the academic and other requirements to the next year and recommends the brothers for the Sacred Orders of Karoyusa, Heupadiaknusa and M’Samsanusa, at the end of first, second and third year respectively. Priestly Ordination is at the end of the fourth year. Those who are found unworthy of the seminary life and priestly ministry are asked to discontinue at any time of the year.